Blue Traxx Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 2003 blaster and it runs fine. starts up on first kick every time. but it just started to make a knocking noise. was wondering what it may be ?

·
Registered
4,848 Posts
no it definatly isnt the reeds..there made of practically plastic, they cant make a noise that loud, or any noise at all...i cant remember what it is (i had a blaster years ago) but its usually normal...alot of blasters do it to be honest, i know that if your engine rattles, its becuase you have too much clearance between the cylinder wall and the piston, and the piston is slapping the cylinder walls, but as far as knocking, it doesnt come to mind...i wish i could remember!

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
it could be a rattle noise im not very good at describing this noise.but it seems like it started very low last year and gets a little louder after every ride but like i said it runs perfect .

·
Registered
172 Posts
Piston slap..

have it bored .020, honed, new piston and rings, and it will stop...

Eric

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
minimus said:
you may just be hearing the reeds opening and closing
WTF are you talking about?

DO you even know what a reed is???????????? Holy crap.

Anyway, there is alot of things it could be. Doubt its from running too low octane, as i sometimes ran 87 in my blaster and it was fine. But just get a tank of 93 or 94 if you can, or whatever, up here it is 94. I dont think its that though. Unless the blaster had the piss beat out of it, hopefully its not piston slap since its a 03. If it was bad enough to make that kind of noise, it wouldnt start 1st kick.