Blue Traxx Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i have read that keeping the stock carb setting is not good. so I'm asking all of u in your infant wisdom what would be the best jet kit both performance and bang for your buck? i have a 04 raptor with no mods besides a modified air box and a k&n filter. my friends think that the carb is already jetted but i just don't know so i would like to start a new. my riding elevation ranges from 5500-8500 feet. is that to much of a gap to find a happy medium? please tell me everything I'm new to this and very eager to learn.

·
Registered
13 Posts
go with the dyno jet kit. its around 80 bucks, but dang whole new machine, better throttle responce and a bit more power. it also doesnt take as long to warm up either. dynojet.com

·
Registered
296 Posts
I usually just buy the individual jets from the stealership myself. About $4 for mains and $7 for Pilots last I got some. You can also order from 'Jets-R-Us' online, heard they do a great job.

Personally, if I were to buy a kit it would be the Vito's kit for I think $50/60. Comes with MORE than you'd need- much more inclusive than any other kit on the market and cheaper as well. Needles and extended A/F screws :tup: (http://www.vitosperformance.com/atv_parts/product.php?productid=11149&cat=319&page=1)

Don't guess at your bike being jetted. Running lean can really damage your engine ! Take your carbs apart, clean them (should be done at least once a year if not a few times), and check out what jets you have in the bike. Stock jetting isn't bad- it's just setup for a stock bike. Any change to the intake or exhaust will require tuning the carbs to make it run properly and to it's potential. Stock sizes are 140L/145R w/ 22.5 pilots.