Blue Traxx Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know what the speed of an Athlon XP 2000+ processor is? I'm gettin a computer for christmas and that's the processor it has. Would this be fast enough for video editing- i might do some if i get a helmet cam. Anyway what are your thoughts on this processor :tup: :tdown:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
402 Posts
Barton? That would be a good processor. Will this be a stock computer or custom? If custom make sure you get a goodvideo/graphics card and have a lot of memory (DDR RAM) I would run dual 512MB or a 1GB ram stick. You can overclock those athlons a lot. In reality.....as much as I hate to say it if you do only video editing and surf the web (no games) then go for a mac. A G4 would be super nice....but I guess that is only if you are buying a stocker. I have a ton of knowledge when it comes to computers and parts. I am always going to suggest AMD/ATI...since I am a AMD-dork. No pentium/nvidia parts near me...hehe This is going to be my new computer I am building (know that I am poor as he11 :) )



Qty Product Description Unit Price Extended Price
Cases (Computer Cases, ATX Form)

ASPIRE X-Dreamer II Purple Silver ATX Mid-Tower Case with 350W Power Supply, Model "ATXB4KLW/350" -RETAIL
Item# N82E16811144073


$54.00


Samsung Black 52X32X52X16 DVD/CD-RW Combo Drive, Model TS-H492A/WBGH, OEM
Item# N82E16827151051



$37.99


Maxtor 80GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive, MODEL 6Y080M0, OEM Drive Only
Item# N82E16822144318



$68.50



Kingston ValueRAM Dual Kits 184 Pin 512MB(256MBx2) DDR PC-3200
Item# N82E16820141413


$93.00


EPoX "EP-8RDA3+" nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU -RETAIL
Item# N82E16813123198



$74.00




AMD Athlon XP 2500+ "Barton", 333 FSB, 512K Cache Processor - OEM
Item# N82E16819103378



$82.00



ATI RADEON 9800PRO Video Card, 128MB DDR, 256-bit, DVI/TV-Out, 8X AGP -RETAIL
Item# N82E16814102286



$233.00

Extended Warranty Coverage
Extended Warranty: $0.00
Product total: $641.49
Shipping & Handling: $ 31.98
Total (Before tax): $ 672.47



thats from new egg and I will be using my monitor and other small stuff.



-Dillon
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well i don't really have a choice of what computer i'm getting, and i think my dad already ordered it the other night. I'll probably end up getting a pentium 4 processor i saw them in the same catalog for a good price, a DVD writer, and posssibly more RAM. Thanks for the response
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You should check out www.tigerdirect.com if you want some cheap computer parts that's where my computer is coming from :tup:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,541 Posts
pricewatch.com has great prices on stuff. Also check out www.computergeeks.com for some good deals. An Athlon 2000+ Palomino core runs at 1667 mhz. With 128kb L1 cache and 256kb L2 cache on an 18 micron die. If its a 2000+ then it can't be a Barton core, because the lowest they were manufactured at was a "2500+". They have the 333mhz FSB and twice as much L2 cache.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,636 Posts
blaster2000 said:
You should check out www.tigerdirect.com if you want some cheap computer parts that's where my computer is coming from :tup:
Yuck, newegg is the only way to go. I have ordered from Tiger Direct in the past and they messed up alot of my orders...nothing but problems

I ordered all the parts from newegg when i bought my new computer and they're service is great. Most of the time they offer free shipping too :tup: :tup:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
402 Posts
mxthunder said:
pricewatch.com has great prices on stuff. Also check out www.computergeeks.com for some good deals. An Athlon 2000+ Palomino core runs at 1667 mhz. With 128kb L1 cache and 256kb L2 cache on an 18 micron die. If its a 2000+ then it can't be a Barton core, because the lowest they were manufactured at was a "2500+". They have the 333mhz FSB and twice as much L2 cache.

ya I couldnt remember if the barton came out with the 2500+ or the 2000+. I like computergeeks.com One of the best sites I have seen.



-Dillon
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
For the new generation of games (ex. Doom 3) you'll need a 128 mb video card at least and a 2.8GHz or higher processor. It'll work good for editing also with that setup.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
864 Posts
my comp i have has a atholon chip works good and fast good graphics and such
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
344 Posts
2.8 ghz... ? thats kinda high... my friends 2.4 plays doom 3 smoothly and thats with only a 5950 graphics card.. 2.8 is kinda high.. lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
947 Posts
I have a 2100+ and it's about 1.7ghz. Pricewatch has high prices, I found much lower prices on Froogle.com, it's much better.

You definitely don't need a 2.8ghz processor to play Doom3, my comp played it fine on low settings. I have a Radeon 9500 pro (128mb) and it played it pretty good. A 2.8 is definitely not needed for most people.

Yes, an athlon 64 bit processor is good, but nothing uses 64 bits YET. There will be another version of windows XP coming out soon that supports 64 bits. Until then, an Athlon 64 is useless and has to be run on 32 bit settings.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
I just recommended it to play it "well". for ex. "High setting". you can still play it with that speed processor but it'll play better with the faster models. BTW, did you make it into hell yet?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
947 Posts
Raptor4439 said:
I just recommended it to play it "well". for ex. "High setting". you can still play it with that speed processor but it'll play better with the faster models. BTW, did you make it into hell yet?
You talkin about in the game?
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top