2009 yamaha big bear 250 - Yamaha ATV Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 05-14-2018, 04:12 PM Thread Starter

2009 yamaha big bear 250

guys, I created this account to seek some help, I am a master certified car mechanic, and am working on my friends 2009 yamaha big bear 250 2wd. It has a no spark/ intermmitant spark issue. I have purchased the yamaha repair manual pdf. Now my problem is that there seems to be a discrepancy between what the repair manual says, and what wire colors actually are on the vehicle. I have called yamaha, and they were no help. Also the dealer where she bought the 4 wheeler was bought out last year, and the new dealer has no repair records. ok, so down to business. I found a bad spark plug cap, and replaced it, but I am still not getting a pulse to the primary side of the coil. According the manual the next step is to check the pickup coil resistance, and then the source coil resistance. ( see picture) the pickup coil is the w/g, and w/r wire, with a resistance of 189-231 ohms (these wires appear to be correct) and the source coil is Br(own) and B(lack) i think. with a resistance of 270-230. The problem i am running into is the source coil color of wires are not matching what is in the repair manual, so i am not sure what i am testing. I ended up following the wires all the way into the stator housing. The w/g, and w/r wires go to what appear to be a pickup coil (see picture). in total there are 7 wires, coming from the stator housing, the w/g,w/r which i beleive are the pickup coil wires, 3 white wires, which I think are the 3 phase generator wires going to the rectifier, and lastly there is white/blue wire, and a solid red wire which I think should be the source coil (i do not know what a source coild is or does exactly nor what one is supposed to look like), but they also trace back to the stator windings, but are seperate from the 3 whites (see pictures). Also after the connector (see picture, the white blue wir