Yamaha Sport ATV Forum

coolant in oil and engine seized

This is a discussion on coolant in oil and engine seized within the Yamaha YFZ450/450R (2004-Present) forums, part of the Performance /Technical category; so i just became a member here so im new at this .but I have been looking on here and you guys have been very ...

Go Back   Yamaha ATV Forum > Performance /Technical > Yamaha YFZ450/450R (2004-Present)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 07:43 PM   #1

View opie450's Photo Gallery(0)
Default coolant in oil and engine seized

so i just became a member here so im new at this .but I have been looking on here and you guys have been very helpful so far. the only thing is you have nothing about the problem im having. i bought a 04 yfz 450 about two years ago and ive been amazed by the quad and even though its been a complete money pit i havent let my faith down yet so neway, the valves were sounding a little tight and i figured they werent to bad so i would just get them looked at when i came back from my trip. well b4 i even went i ordered brakes and clutch cable installed them and headin to the farm for a test drive. after about 2 minutes into the ride i went from 5th gear and came to a corner so i down shifted into 3rd and it just seized and stopped dead in its tracks. i tried to start it back up but the starter just clicked. and when i went to move the back tires it was just locked up. nothing grinded or was tinging around the motor it just seized and thats it. so i took it home and drain the oil and coolant poured out with grey oil following. i know i possbly blew it up i was just trying to find out to what degree and if its worth rebuilding.

plz help
opie450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 04:36 AM   #2

View redneckyfz450's Photo Gallery(0)