Blue Traxx Forum banner

Yamaha Raptor 90 sons birthday? help

3K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  loki09 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello Blue traxx forum,

I am here today because my son has come up to me and asked for his birthday if he could get a Raptor 90. Personally, I have never been on a quad before so I have no experience with these and that's why I'm here trying to get as much information as possible.

"Jake" my son has some experience or riding off road on motorbikes but as far as I know he's never ridden one of these either so I thought starting at a Raptor 90 would be better for him. He's going to be turning 13 in a couple of months, am I being to protective by getting a 90?? should I get something with a little more power? Like this raptor 660 http://www.used.forsale/canada/yamaha-raptor In terms of the maintenance, how long do you guys spends maintaining/fixing up your quads? how often do you have to do oil changes and things like that? Sorry about my poor terminology!

All your guy's thoughts and suggestions are greatly appreciated! Really looking forward to speaking with you all and getting my son on 4 wheels!! If there is any other information you guys need just ask and I will get it added on ASAP.

Thanks

See less See more
#2 ·
at 13 a raptor 90 will be a waste of time and money imo. he will be way to big for it unless he is planning on doing pit bike stuff. if he has been riding for a while he will be board with even a raptor 350 pretty quickly if he is doing anything other than trail riding, it would be ok for that for a while. if you are going to be riding in the sand i would not consider a 350 of any kind, start with a raptor 660-700 or a yfz 450.

i have both bikes and quads and the quads definitely take more maintenance they have twice as many moving parts and seem to be more fragile . i normally change my oil once a year on my quads but i only use them in the sand. i power wash them after every ride and do a quick safety inspection.